Favorite Shows on the Discovery Channel, National Geographic, History Channel and More

When I was a kid my mother had this weird fascination (well I thought it was weird at the time) of watching all these nature and science shows on National Geographic, the Science Channel, the History Channel etc. As I grew older I never understood what people found so interesting about these shows, because honestly I didn’t have the time or attention span to get into any of them (OK that’s a slight lie, because I just remembered I was obsessed with Pawn Starts in high school and that’s on the History Channel).

Then last August after years of eye rolling every time I walked by someone watching one of these shows or channels, I sat down and decided to finally give one a chance. I soon realized that these shows about nature and science weren’t that bad after all, you just have to find the right when for you at first and then eventually you’ll find more like them.

Now over a year later I’ve found myself invested in many shows about Alaska and getting emotionally invested in the show Alone, like some people do with the Bachelor.

Today I thought I’d share with you some of my favorite shows on National Geographic, the History Channel, the Science Channel, etc.

Promotion Poster for Alone (History Channel)

1. Alone
This is probably my favorite on the list, I’ll admit I didn’t really get into the show until season 3, but once that season started I was hooked. The show follows 10 people, who document their struggles in the wilderness. Participants are only allowed a certain amount items, there is no camera crew to film, they have to film everything themselves, and are completely isolated from the other contestants (the the name of the show). The person who remains the longest wins the grand prize of $500,000. You can check out trailers and episodes here!

2. Ultimate Survival Alaska
So this show isn’t exactly on air anymore, but you can probably find it on demand or reruns of it on National Geographic. This was the show that started it all for me and my interest in the state of Alaska.

It’s another reality competition show, because everyone is a sucker for those. This show again is like Alone, it focused on the survivalist men and women, who were dropped off in the Alaskan bush. Throughout the season teams of three would compete against each other and race through the unpredictable state that is Alaska. Before I started to watch this I just thought Alaska was some cold miserable place, I was very wrong after I started watching this show.

Edge of Alaska (Discovery Channel)


3. Edge of Alaska

This is probably one of my favorite shows on Alaska. Edge of Alaska, focuses on the small remote town in eastern Alaska and probably the toughest town in America: McCarthy. Only 42 people live in this town, the people who usually come to live here are the ones who want to be left alone from the real world.

You wouldn’t believe it, but for a town of 42 people in a remote location, they run into their fair share of drama. I know I couldn’t believe it either. Battles go down as some people in McCarthy want to make the town a tourist attraction to bring in more people and money. While others just want to keep things the way they are, it’s a wild life in this town. You can watch it on the Discovery Channel or catch some clips here.

4. Pawn Stars

I’m pretty sure everyone and their mother has seen at least one episode of this show. As I said before I was kind of obsessed with it in high school. However if you don’t know what the show is about, it follows the daily activities that go down at the World Famous Gold & Silver Pawn Shop, located in Las Vegas Nevada.

I know it’s not a show about the wilderness, but honestly I still think it’s pretty cool and you can learn a lot in one episode. Also you can see the insane amounts of money people get or waste on things.

The famous Brown Family (Discovery Channel)

5. Alaskan Bush People
OK some of you might hate me for putting this on the list, I kind of hate myself too I won’t lie, but it’s a guilty pleasure. In my defense though it is an entertaining show and I did get two of my friends hooked on it, so I’m not alone.

Alaskan Bush People follows the life of the Brown family, who live in the remote Alaskan Bush. The Browns live in the new community on Chichagof Island, where they make trips to the main land of Alaska sometimes. The Browns barter their labor, wood, and transportation services to achieve the way of independent living, without relying on generator fuel for their electrical needs. I would consider this family the Kardashians of Alaska. Learn more about the Brown family here!

Leave a Reply

