Into the Wild: The Book That Will Help You Find Yourself and Spark Motivation for Your Next Great Adventure

Anyone who loves the great outdoors probably knows the tragic story of Chris McCandless, the California born American hiker, who decided to travel around the United States and then walk into the Alaskan bush only to never return.

One day in late August when I was like 7 episodes deep into Ultimate Survival Alaska on National Geographic, they featured the magic bus where McCandless spent 113 days of his life. After watching that episode of Ultimate Survival Alaska I was hooked on the idea of learning more about McCandless.

Photo of Chris McCandless hunting, after he recently entered the Alaskan Bush (Chris McCandless/AP)
Photo of Chris McCandless hunting, after he recently entered the Alaskan Bush (Chris McCandless/AP)

Soon after the episode was over I was on Google trying to find out who this Chris McCandless person was and stumbled onto all this information about the movie and book Into the Wild. Then I found myself on Netflix watching the movie Into the Wild and my love for adventure and learning about Alaska has only grown since then.

A few weeks ago I finally finished the book Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer for my Advanced Journalism class and it was just as good as I thought it would be. More importantly it re-sparked my love and interest for adventure during these gloomy winter months when all you want to do is stay inside where it’s warm.

Not too long after I was in the car with one of my friends embarking on our next backpacking adventure. Walking into the woods smiling as the snow fell, this is how I imagined McCandless felt when he came to Alaska.

Jon Krakauer's famous book Into the Wild
Jon Krakauer’s famous book Into the Wild

For anyone who loves the outdoors, Alaska, or anything adventure related I urge you to read this book. It’s good if you’re looking for that motivation of adventure, need a good read, or are trying to find yourself. You don’t even need those reasons to read it, because I’ve met people who aren’t into that stuff and still loved the book.

But if you do decide to give it a chance you can find it here on Amazon for pretty cheap.

“I now walk into the wild”
-Chris McCandless

One thought on “Into the Wild: The Book That Will Help You Find Yourself and Spark Motivation for Your Next Great Adventure

  1. Nice article. I remember watching this movie when i was in highschool and i believe i read the book as well. I think it’s a great book just in general, and i agree that it is a book that is different from simply just a novel. This teaches you about life. Nice job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

